Creating the Learning Manager Groups
Learning Manager Groups must be created before the groups are assigned to courses.
This can only be done by someone with the Learning Manager permission.
- In Learning Manager, under the Groups tab, click ‘Create a new group’.
- Enter a group name. This is required and will be displayed to learners within the Study Groups.
- Example: Pure Maths Group 1
- Example: Applied Maths Group 1
- Enter a group code.
- Example: MA_PURE_GROUP_1
- Example: MA_APPLIED_GROUP_1
- Add the user who will appear as the Mentor to this group on their group tasks.
- Select the course runs which this grouping should belong to. Once learners have been added to the groups, these course runs cannot be added or removed.
- Click ‘Save group’
The Study Groups feature should not be enabled for Small Collaborative Groups, even if Learners are being allocated via Learning Manager.
Adding learners to Learning Manager groups
Learners invited to the organisation through Learning Manager or the University-initiated enrolment API can be added to a Learning Manager Group before they’ve accepted their invitation and created their FutureLearn account. Learners can be added and removed from the groups up until the start date of the first course that is using that group. After that date, they can be added but not removed.*
Course runs cannot be removed once learners have been added to a Learning Manager group.
- On the Groups page, find and click the name of the group.
- Click ‘Add members to group’.
- Find the learners that should belong to this group using the search tool provided. Learners can be found by either their name if they have a FutureLearn account linked to the organisation, or by their university ID. Occasionally, you’ll need to use the learner’s email address.
Having learners join their Small Collaborative group
Once the above steps are completed before the start of the course, learners are able to join their small collaborative group set when visiting the first step, the Group Task / Workspace, in the set of 3 steps on the course.
* Learners can still be removed from the Learning Manager group after the course has been added, but this won’t remove them from the corresponding small collaborative group study group if they’ve already joined it