In January 2023, FutureLearn introduced 'Learn At Your Own Pace'. This applies to anyone learning on a course on the Upgrade model.
Whereas before learners were able to access all course content upon joining the course, regardless of their payment status, free learners now have restricted access to the course at the point when they join.
At the time of joining for free, learners see an introductory screen alerting them of their limited access.
The following weeks will display a padlock icon in the To do list
and left hand navigation
to indicate that access is blocked for the next 7 days. At the top of every page, they will also see a call to action to upgrade to access further content.
Precisely a week after they join, they will gain access to the second week of content, and so on. Once a learner has access to a week's worth of content, they retain it until the end of the course - they are not prevented from going back to review previous weeks.
Purchasing an upgrade or Unlimited subscription immediately removes all restrictions on a learner's access to the course.
Terminology on this page that you aren’t familiar with? Check out our glossary.